School District of Lee County seal. Photo via WINK News.
School District of Lee County seal. Credit: WINK News.

Lee County school district offering Young Five Program

The Young Five Program is currently accepting its first students, the School District of Lee County said in a news release.

The Young Five Program is for students who are eligible for kindergarten and would benefit from an extra year of social and emotional development.

“The Young Five Program will offer a learning environment tailored to meet the needs of students with late spring and summer birthdays who would benefit from additional time with school readiness,” says Dr. Bethany Quisenberry, Director of Elementary Curriculum and Instruction.  “Young Five students will have a certified teacher who will provide engaging lessons in literacy, math, social/emotional, and motor skills developmentally appropriate for their age.”

To qualify, students must turn five years old between May 1st and September 1st, 2021.

The 10 schools offering The Young Five Program include:

  • Cape Elementary
  • Edgewood Academy
  • Lehigh Elementary
  • J. Colin English Elementary
  • Orangewood Elementary
  • Manatee Elementary
  • San Carlos Park Elementary
  • River Hall Elementary
  • Spring Creek Elementary
  • Sunshine Elementary

Parents with questions can email [email protected] or call one of the schools offering the program. Registration information is available on the School District’s website.

Do you see a typo or an error? Let us know.