Published: Sep 08, 2010 8:51 PM EDT
Updated: Sep 09, 2010 4:30 AM EDT

COLUMBIA, S.C. (AP) — In the powerhouse Southeastern Conference, not all members measure up with the game's best.

See, there's good and then there's SEC good.

Alabama, Florida and LSU have combined for six even national championships and 13 SEC titles since 1992. Others, like South Carolina or Mississippi State, do well against nonconference opponents, but go decades — and several coaching changes — trying to creep to the top.

Since 1977 only six schools have won the conference title, and its unlikely any of the have-nots will break through this year.

With several SEC teams opening league play this weekend, No. 1 Alabama and No. 8 Florida are heavy favorites to face off for at third straight season in the league's title game.