Published: Mar 11, 2014 10:36 AM EDT

FORT MYERS BEACH, Fla.- It's Election Day on Fort Myers Beach! There are 5,145 registered voters on the island, and they are encouraged to head to the polls and vote to fill the spots for Town Council.

Five candidates have qualified for three spots. Those candidates are current Vice Mayor Joe Kosinski, Chuck Bodenhafer, Anita Cereceda, Rexann Hosafros and Summer Stockton.

This year, Lee County has added a third polling place to the island. You can vote at Chapel by the Sea, St. Peter's Lutheran Church, or at the Church of Ascension.

Some of the hot topics candidates say they will address are traffic on Estero, Seafarers' Village, obtaining town permits and land development codes.

Polls are open until 7:00 p.m.