MGN Online

Published: Dec 10, 2013 8:23 AM EST

ORLANOD, Fla. (AP) - Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University has accepted an invitation to join NCAA Division II Sunshine State Conference.
The Daytona school announced its plans Monday to join nine other Florida-based universities in a conference that includes the likes of Rollins College, St. Leo University and the University of Tampa.
The invitation is contingent upon Embry-Riddle being accepted through the NCAA's membership process, which has a Feb. 1 application deadline. The NCAA membership committee is expected to announce its final decisions in July.
If accepted it would then enter a one-year candidacy in 2014, with eligibility for NCAA postseason play beginning in 2017.
Embry-Riddle is currently a member of the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics and Sun Conference

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)