|Published:||Jul 24, 2013 12:49 PM EDT|
|Updated:||Jul 24, 2013 1:56 PM EDT|
In two months, a new law will take effect banning Florida drivers from texting and driving. Today, the Lee County Sheriff's Office is teaching teenagers about the the dangers of distracted driving.
The summer months before Labor Day are one of the most dangerous times of year to be on the roads, and the risk is increased tremendously for teen drivers.
"There's an uncontrolled environment called the world out there, and everybody is not going to drive the same. so it will make them or allow them to be safer drivers on the road," said Lt. Angelo Vaughn with the Lee County Sheriff's Office.
The sheriff's office gave 15 new drivers a two-day crash course in safe driving Tuesday and Wednesday, starting with a classroom portion. Wednesday, they took to the at the sheriff's office training facility to take part in exercises such as threshold breaking, figure eights, and the serpentine. They're also making a push against texting and driving, with new laws set to take effect in Florida this October.
Governor Rick Scott signed Senate Bill 52 in to law back in May. It will make texting and driving a secondary offense. The fine for a first offense is $30, and goes up to $60 with points on your license for repeat offenders.
Florida is the 41st state to ban texting and driving.
Statistics show that texting and driving increases your risk of a crash by 37 times.