|Published:||Jul 24, 2010 12:49 AM EDT|
|Updated:||Jul 23, 2010 7:49 PM EDT|
COLLIER COUNTY - Deputies tell Wink News they're being put in danger because drivers aren't moving over.
"When you've got a car passing you at 120 feet/second it can be unnerving and definitely unsafe," says Sgt. Robert Brown, Collier County Sheriff's Office.
But, we wanted to see for ourselves, so Sgt. Brown took us on I-75.
Sure enough, many drivers didn't move over. One motorist even moved into the Sergeant's lane.
Here are the rules:
1) Move over so there's at least a one lane buffer for all emergency vehicles, even tow trucks.
2) If you can't move over, reduce your speed to 20mph less than the posted speed limit.
3) If the speed limit is 20 mph or less, drive at 5mph.
In Florida, the fine for ignoring the move over law is $118.
- Passerby pulls floating 5 year-old from North Naples pond
- Some adult arcades still open after ban
- A young girl is home after a near drowning incident
- New home industry really coming back?
- Zimmerman jurors reveal personal d
- Comedy night to benefit unpaid employees of Wise Guys
- Florida Leads U.S. in Vacated Foreclosure Homes