Published: May 20, 2010 9:36 PM EDT
Updated: May 21, 2010 4:05 AM EDT

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. - Governor Charlie Crist’s declaration of a State of Emergency has been extended to include Charlotte, Lee, Collier, Monroe, Miami-Dade, Broward and Palm Beach counties due to the Deepwater Horizon oil spill.

The related executive order issued by Gov. Crist said:

"On April 30, 2010, I issued Executive Order 10-99 declaring a state of emergency due to the threat that oil leaking from the Deepwater Horizon drilling platform and well poses to the State of Florida.

"I found that this event threatens the State of Florida with the major disaster and proclaimed a state of emergency exists for the counties of Escambia, Santa Rosa, Okaloosa, Walton, Bay and Gulf...Franklin, Wakulla, Jefferson, Taylor, Dixie, Levy, Citrus, Hernando, Pasco, Pinellas, Hillsborough, Manatee and Sarasota.

"As the oil continues to spill from the well and all efforts to stop the discharge have failed and may not succeed for an extended period of time, more Florida counties could be affected...

"Subsequently, reports have been received indicating that iol from the spill has entered the Loop Current of the Gulf of Mexico, thereby creating a potential threat to additional counties bordering the Gulf and along the Atlantic Seaboard.

"As Governor, I am responsible to meet the dangers presented to this state and its people by this emergency. Therefore...[the State of Emergency is extended to include] the following additional counties for the state of emergency: Charlotte, Lee, Collier, Monroe, Dade, Broward and Palm Beach counties."



WINK News is working on the story and we'll bring you additional details as soon as they become available.