Published: Apr 07, 2011 12:54 AM EDT
Updated: Apr 06, 2011 10:29 PM EDT

LEE COUNTY, Fla.- Lee County narrows the list of candidates vying to be the next school superintendent.  They cut the list from forty-two down to eight.  

Still on the list:    

      Leon Hobbs, President/CEO, Hobbs Leadership Team, Flowery Branch, GA

      Kamela Patton, Assistant Superintendent, Office of the Superintendent & District/School Operations,
      Miami-Dade County, Miami FL

      Barbara McGann, Executive Director, Advanced Math & Science, Academy, Marlborough, MA

      Dennis Thompson, Superintendent of Schools, Collier County, Naples, FL

      Steven Cobb, Chief Academic Officer, Fort Wayne Community Schools, Fort Wayne, IN

      Nancy Graham, Principal, Naples High School, Naples, FL

      Constance Jones, Chief Academic Officer, Lee County Public Schools, Fort Myers, FL

     Joe Burke, Superintendent, Monroe County Schools, Key West, FL

Current Collier County Superintendent, Dennis Thompson and Nancy Graham, the principal at Naples High made the committee's short list of candidates.  The board will do more research and background checks then narrow the field again later this month.