Published: May 05, 2010 11:19 AM EDT

   LONDON (AP) - A new wave of dense volcanic ash from Iceland
disrupted air traffic Wednesday in Scotland and Ireland and
threatened to spill into England's airspace.
      Britain's Civil Aviation Authority grounded flights at most
airports in Scotland and Northern Ireland beginning at 7 a.m.
(0600GMT; 2 a.m. EDT) Wednesday. However, services from the two
regions' capitals, Edinburgh and Belfast, remained open.
      The Irish Aviation Authority shut down services in some, but not
all, airports in the Republic of Ireland. The key Irish hub,
Dublin, planned to shut down its runways from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.
(1000GMT to 1600GMT; 6 a.m. to noon EDT).
      British authorities said Wednesday's ash cloud might reach
northwestern England and Wales but would miss the key
trans-Atlantic hub of London.