Published: Jun 01, 2012 5:26 PM EDT
Updated: Jun 01, 2012 7:37 PM EDT

FORT MYERS, Fla. – The Edison State College District Board of Trustees unanimously selected Dr. Jeffery Allbritten as the next District President of Edison State College on Friday.

The Board of Trustees voted to offer Dr. Allbritten a contract that includes a base salary of $263,850 plus benefits, which are valued at 28 percent of the base salary plus a car allowance of $1,000 per month. The total contract is approximately $350,000 with negotiations ongoing.

No starting date has been finalized for Dr. Allbritten to take over as the fourth District President in Edison’s 50-year history.

“This entire process is the result of a community-wide, collaborative effort,” said Ann E. Berlam, Edison Board chair. “We are extremely pleased to welcome Dr. Allbritten to the Edison State College family.”

Berlam was joined by Trustees Brian Chapman Jr., Randall T. Parrish, Julia G. Perry, Braxton C. Rhone, Marjorie Starnes Bilotti, Christopher T. Vernon and Eddie Webb III in voting for Dr. Allbritten.

Edison State hired Academic Search, Inc. in January to conduct a national presidential search. The process drew 41 applicants from across the country. A 13-member Presidential Search Advisory Committee, chaired by Berlam, narrowed the list to nine candidates last month.

The committee then interviewed the nine candidates and chose five finalists. Dr. Peggy Kennedy and Dr. Eric McKeithan withdrew from consideration due to other professional opportunities. The three remaining candidates included Dr. Allbritten, President of Macon State College; Dr. Eugene Giovannini, President of GateWay Community College; and Dr. Joseph Sarnovsky, Executive Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer at Seminole State College.

This past week, the three finalists toured each of Edison’s four locations throughout Southwest Florida and participated in public forums.