Published: May 15, 2012 6:54 PM EDT

LEE COUNTY, Fla - Edison State College is a step closer to having a District President.

The Presidential Search Advisory Committee unanimously chose five finalists after interviewing nine candidates Monday and Tuesday morning.

The five final candidates include:

Jeffrey Allbritten, President of Macon State College (Georgia)

Eugene Giovannini, President of GateWay Community College (Arizona)

Peggy Kennedy, Interim President and CEO of Minnesota State Community & Technical College (Minnesota)

Eric McKeithan, President of Cape Fear Community College (North Carolina)

Joseph Sarnovsky, Executive Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer at Seminole State College (Florida)

All five finalists will return for additional interviews. The dates and agenda for each candidate will be released as soon as possible. The agenda will include campus tours, meetings with faculty and staff and community forums. Also, please check for updates about the search at

The District Board of Trustees will interview the finalists at a special meeting tentatively set for June 1.