Published: May 08, 2012 11:59 PM EDT

FORT MYERS, Fla.– The Edison State College Presidential Search Committee members Tuesday night reviewed a list of 40 applicants interested in becoming the fourth District President for the college. After deliberations, the committee selected nine applicants for further consideration.

The applicants are: Eric McKeithan, Jeff Allbritten, Dennis Harkins, Joseph Sarnovsky, Eugene Giovannini, Larry Whitworth, Allen Witt, Jean Wihbey and Peggy Kennedy.

“It was encouraging to see such a wide range of professionals interested in being our next District President,” said Ann Berlam, Chair of the 13-member Presidential Search Committee and Chair of the Edison State College Board of Trustees. “I’m pleased that this search has attracted professionals with a variety of backgrounds. Now that we have nine candidates, our next step is to contact them and arrange for personal interviews with the committee.”

The charge of the committee, added Berlam, is to recommend three to five finalists to the college’s Board of Trustees. Those finalists will be interviewed by the Board of Trustees, which will then make the final decision.

The Presidential Search Advisory Committee met for the first time on February 23, 2012 on the Lee Campus. The committee has 13 members, which are comprised of faculty, staff, community leaders and an Edison State College student, who together represent Edison’s five-county region of Collier, Lee, Charlotte, Hendry and Glades.

The members are: Ann Berlam, Chair of the Presidential Search Advisory Committee, Darol Carr, Joyce Rollins, Dr. Allen Weiss, Tom Conner, Dr. John Huysman, Miguel Fernandez, Amanda Pollitt, Don Ransford, Christine Davis, Andrae Jones, Charlene Wolfe, and Dania Flores.