Published: Mar 02, 2012 12:39 AM EST
Updated: Mar 02, 2012 1:11 AM EST

LEE COUNTY, Fla - Six Lee County teachers were surprised in their classrooms Thursday with the Golden Apple award. The Golden Apple represents excellence in the classroom and is a community award giving to public school teachers each year.  Students, parents and community leaders submit nomination forms in the fall.  This year there were more than a thousand nominations, but only six teachers earn the Golden Apple.

This year's Golden Apple teachers are:

Eric Riemenschneider - Fort Myers High

Kim Smith - North Fort Myers Academy for the Arts

Billy Lansberry - North Fort Myers High

Heather Millican - Cypress Lake High

Charles O'Connor - Lexington Middle

Laura Reed - Dr. Carrie Robinson Littleton Elementary