Published: Mar 01, 2012 10:00 PM EST
Updated: Mar 02, 2012 12:30 AM EST

LEE COUNTY, Fla - Six Lee County teachers are now considered to be among the best our public school system has to offer.  They are this year's recipients of the prestigious Golden Apple Award.

The Golden Apple is a community award given to teachers who exemplify excellence in the classroom.  Of the thousands of nomination forms submitted each year, only six teacher are chosen for the award.

This year's Golden Apple teachers are:

Eric Riemenschneider - Fort Myers High

Kim Smith - North Fort Myers Academy for the Arts

Billy Lansberry - North Fort Myers High

Heather Millican - Cypress Lake High

Charles O'Connor - Lexington Middle

Laura Reed - Dr. Carrie Robinson Littleton Elementary