Published: Apr 19, 2011 3:48 PM EDT
Updated: Apr 19, 2011 12:49 PM EDT

LEE COUNTY, Fla - Each year the Lee County School District recognizes the contributions to students by outstanding teachers in various subject areas. These educators have set themselves head and shoulders above their peers, and are honored for their hard work and dedication.
“I am very proud to honor these teachers for all they do every day for our students,” said Dr. Lawrence Tihen, Interim Superintendent of Schools. “I’ve seen first-hand the difference they make in the lives of children, and they are truly deserving of this recognition.”
This year’s Subject Area Teachers of the Year are:

Art – Visual

Marguerite Husebye – Cape Coral High
Randy Markgraf – Bayshore Elementary & Diplomat Elementary
Theresa West-Taylor – North Fort Myers Academy for the Art


Josh Hart – Diplomat Middle

Drivers Education

Colin Kelly – Dunbar High

Environmental Education

Heidi Brennan – Manatee Elementary
Elizabeth Kominar – Cape Coral High
Stanley Strickland – Three Oaks Middle


Lucrecia Lucero – Mariner High

Exceptional Student Ed.

Barry Jenkins – Alva Middle
Terri Kramer – Manatee Elementary
Shannon Peckham – Gateway Elementary
Cynthia Webb – Dunbar High

Health Education

Brooke DeCarlo – Caloosa Middle

Instructional Technology

Chuck Baack – High Tech North
Karen Dreussi – Allen Park Elementary
Alan Klingensmith – North Fort Myers Academy for the Arts


First Sergeant Bryant Robinson – Estero High

Language Arts

Lisa Blanco – Trafalgar Elementary
Rebecca Jamme – Dunbar High
Jonathan Martin – Alva Middle
Alicia Miller – Cape Coral High


Judy Harris – Alva Middle
Jane Nordquist – Ida S. Baker High
Gay Page – Caloosa Elementary

Media Specialist

Patricia Jackson – Colonial Elementary
Cynthia Jeffcott – South Fort Myers High
Sue Los Huertos – Diplomat Middle


Sarah Hamilton – Mariner High School
Susan Hamilton – Littleton Elementary & Tropic Isles Elementary

Physical Education

Pam Forsyth – Three Oaks Middle
Melanie Menard – Bayshore Elementary
Charles Muller – Ida S. Baker High


Susan Barnes – Fort Myers High
Irma Benejan – Pinewoods Elementary
Jane McElree – Alva Middle

School Counselor

Eileen Cherbini – Lehigh Acres Middle
Jan Moretti – Bayshore Elementary
Susan Shoemaker – Island Coast High

School Nurse

Corinne Nelson – Early Childhood Center

School Psychologist

Stephanie Spector – Caloosa Elementary, Caloosa Middle, Challenger Middle, Cape Coral High & Ida S. Baker High

School Social Worker

Pat Nelson – Caloosa Elementary, Hector Cafferata Elementary, Pine Island Elementary, Skyline Elementary, Trafalgar Elementary & Caloosa Middle


Linda Hamstra – Trafalgar Elementary
Dana Sanner – The Sanibel School
Cathy Tucker – Fort Myers High

Social Studies

Jaine Constantine – Sunshine Elementary
Tanya Norris – Diplomat Middle
Paula Sizemore – Riverdale High

Technical/Career Ed.

Christina McDaniel – Island Coast High
Chris McElroy – High Tech Central
Ann Tikka – Caloosa Middle

World Languages

Rocio Broyles – Fort Myers High
Mirta Medina-Pardo – Lehigh Acres Middle
Nohora Rivera – The Sanibel School