Published: Dec 09, 2010 8:00 PM EST
Updated: Dec 09, 2010 4:55 PM EST

COLLIER COUNTY, Fla - The Golden Apple Teacher Recognition Program’s 2010-11 Teachers of Distinction were announced in surprise classroom visits to their schools.  They learned that they will continue in the Golden Apple selection process and be honored at the Golden Apple Teacher Recognition Program.

In January and February, all Teachers of Distinction will be observed by all Selection Committee members.  After the conclusion of the classroom observations, the Selection Committee will interview all thirty (30) Teachers of Distinction. 

Six (6) of the Teachers of Distinction will then be selected to receive a Golden Apple and give a speech at the 21st Annual Golden Apple Teacher Recognition Celebration presented by Suncoast for Kids Foundation at the Philharmonic Center for the Arts on May 3, 2011.  Media partners WINK-TV and Naples Daily News provide ongoing coverage of the program.

2010- 2011 Golden Apple
Teachers of Distinction

Michelle L. Barreiro Corkscrew Elementary
Wylie Bertuna North Naples Middle School
Sean P. Brosig North Naples Middle School
Lisa A. Carraher Pine Ridge Middle
David Wayne Cerretani Osceola Elementary School
Timothy Chestnut Barron Collier High
Patricia Ann Della Posta Palmetto Ridge High School
Kathleen Deye Gulfview Middle School
Jason Leon Eleazer Lake Park Elementary
Susan Ellard Gulf Coast High School
Maria Ferro Parkside Elementary School
Lisa R. Garby Manatee Middle School
Catherine Neal Griffin Calusa Park Elementary
Stacie Hall Shadowlawn Elementary
Lisa Hanba Golden Gate Middle
Jaime Luis Hernandez Immokalee Technical Center
Holly Kennedy Palmetto Elementary
Marsha Layne Gulf Coast High School
Jackie Lippold Calusa Park Elementary
Bridget Mann Corkscrew Middle School
Katy Rogers Calusa Park Elementary
John Thomas Rosbottom Golden Gate Middle
Cindy Sans Pinecrest Elementary
Kera Schwartz Golden Gate Middle
Christine Sobczak Laurel Oak Elementary School
Kimberly Sweat New Beginnings - Naples
Nicholas Sweat Detention Center
Kerrie Anne Thomas Palmetto Ridge High School
Heather Van Osten Calusa Park Elementary
Kathleen Weitzel Naples Park Elementary